Volleyball Australia is pleased to announce that following an extensive twelve month restructure it can now announce its Referees Committee (VARC).

The selected members are:

  • Chair – Rob Szydlowski
  • Education – Catriona Tweedie
  • Pathways – George Chalhoub
  • Technical – Michael Fitzpatrick

The new committee has been chosen with a strong focus on the three key areas that are aligned with Volleyball Australia’s overall strategic plan. Those areas include the technical aspects of refereeing, the pathway and referee education.

The successful members selected were chosen for their outstanding suitability to deliver on the key areas for which they will be responsible.

Volleyball Australia Participation Director Rebecca Walter says the new look committee will ensure the highest possible refereeing standard.

“We heading into an exciting phase for our officiating community and are looking forward to working with the new members of VARC. The process we have undertaken has been open and transparent and we are seeking this continued approach to review, support and further develop all areas of the officiating landscape.” said Walter.

“We are very grateful for the contribution and work done to date by not only our previous members of VARC, but by members of the officiating community, who continually give back to our sport.

This new look VARC and structure will seek to continue the work started and aim to enhance relationships and structures for all areas of officiating moving forward. “


Further information contact: Chloe Edwards (02) 6214 3503

Volleyball Australia Referee Committee