Beach Volleyball excitement is bubbling on so many levels as the sport gets set to make it's historic Commonwealth Games debut on the gold coast.

While for the athletes the occasion is huge, for those officials selected it is also a major career highlight.

Veteran line judge Andrew Scotford was an official for Indoor Volleyball at the Sydney 2000 Olympics and says he’s just as excited now to be part of history again in his home country.

“The idea that you get to officiate at one of the highest levels of your sport in your own country it’s very exciting”

The experience of officiating at Sydney 2000 Andrew says will be a big help in calming the nerves on the gold coast.

“I’ll have the feeling that I know exactly what my role is, I won’t be overawed by what’s going on this time but instead I’ll really get to enjoy being right in the centre of the action.” said Andrew.

The 8 scorers and 18 line judges selected as the National Technical Officials (NTO’s) were chosen following a rigorous training and a three phase selection process, that eased them through from local level to World Tour events, Four Nations and Australian championships at Volleyfest in March and November last year.

“It’s been a great way to graduate you to that top level experience, to best prepare you for packed grandstands, full infrastructure and international officials that you’ll be working with which will hopefully lead to the best possible officiating outcome” said Andrew.

Scotford says he’s expecting Australia to be well in the running for gold medals in both the men’s and women’s competition and believes Beach Volleyball will be one of the games memorable highlights for years to come.

“Located right on the beach at Coolangatta, full grandstands and music, the atmosphere will highlight all the best parts of our sport. I think it’s going to be something very special.”

All officials were assigned events to attend in lead up to the Games. The NTO’s arrived in Coolangatta on 3rd April for fine-tuning with the International Referees, ahead of matches starting this Friday 6-12 April.


List of Officials

Derek Scales WA Line Judge
Rob Szydlowski VIC Line Judge
Jaek Passier QLD Line Judge
Pete Bawhey SA Line Judge
Phong Nguyen VIC Line Judge
Henry Breen SA Line Judge
Phillipa Clews QLD Line Judge
Andrew Scotford ACT Line Judge
Kane Booker NSW Line Judge
David Tran QLD Line Judge
Ashley MacMaster QLD Line Judge
Connor O'Neill QLD Line Judge
Aaron Krahe VIC Line Judge
Anthony Leung QLD Line Judge
Desmond Billy QLD Line Judge
Lachlan Reardon QLD Line Judge
Cimon Lee SA Line Judge
Brendan Buckley WA Line Judge
Darren Grimsey QLD Scorer
Kathryn Longley VIC Scorer
Kylie Marshall QLD Scorer
Kevin Nguyen VIC Scorer
Kim Oates NSW Scorer
Michelle Herbert QLD Scorer
Angela Long SA Scorer
Sam Delaney WA Scorer